Monday, 15 March 2010

Blackout

Now, I love the Twilight Saga. The books are my favourite, I love the way that Stephanie Meyer has written them, the dreamy, love-ridden prose. However I'm not such a fan of the films, I don't really like the actors, the directors have missed out some of the most important parts of the books and I wasn't all that sold on the special effects. But, even I have to admit that the "Eclipse" trailer looks fantastic!
My favourite part of the trailer is the beginning, the beautiful piano music, the arial shoot of the trees, Edward and Bella together in their meadow - where he promises to love her every moment of forever. It just makes me swoon!
The camera shots for this film look amazing, and the locations are breath taking. The shot of the forest gets me everytime, however this time we get to see Bella out of Forks and in Phoenix with her mother. One of my favourite shots is the the one of her overlooking the sea whilst the sun is setting.
So there have been a few changes, and most of them for the better. They've replaced the old Victoria - according to my sources. But I don't think thats such a bad thing. I have nothing against the old Victoria, it's just this one looks hardly any different, just maybe more flame hairer and more feline. Also the special affects have got better, 100%. This time, when the vampires run, it doesn't look like some comedic genius has pressed fast forward - only to find the button affects only half the screen, namely vampire legs. The vampires are also looking paler and more irrestibably different to the human world - I love the golden tint they have in their eyes.
Of course there's always going to be some dissapointments when you have a huge hype around the books. I'm still unkeen about Kristen Stewart as an actress, she seems to wooden for my liking but she is definitley thawing out and getting better. Jacob is looking as handsome as ever, but maybe a little squidy around the edges compared to his rock hard body in New Moon. Also Jane from the Volturi isn't nearly beautiful enough, but I expect it is quite hard to find someone in reality who makes a Botticelli angel look like a gargoyle.
But these are all minor complaints so far. Right now I can not wait until June the 30th to see the finished product. Needless to say I will probably be dissapointed, being the Twihard book fan that I am. But hopefully it can't get any worse than New Moon.

Friday, 12 March 2010

Bus Blues - 2.

Yes, I know that this is the second time in two days that I have blogged about the downsides of the bus travel, but, when you travel every weekday, twenty miles there and back, you start to notice a lot of bad things about bus travel.
But then again I have always hated this one thing about the bus - when people open the window . The bus is neither a warm nor cold place so therefore it never fails to amaze me when people open the window on the bus, if you're hot - take off your jacket, or jumper, or cardigan... just don't open the window.
The thing is, if you're hot, opening the window never helps with anything. No matter where you sit on the bus if YOU want to open the window the air never cools you down, but annoyingly it blows in someones elses face - namely mine!
I've always hated the wind, its so annoying when it blows in your face and blows through your hair - I fear I shall never own a convertabile car, driving with the top down would just annoy me incessantly - not to mention the fact that it gives you goosebumps, all up your arms and necks. So when someone opens the window I get annoyed and grumble underneath my breath, usually to my friends or my other half.
Not to mention the fact that we live in the middle of the country so therefore travelling through the backroads of Devon with open windows never has a pleasant smell - and despite this the person sitting next to middle, clearly smelling the foul odours, still fails to shut the window!

I have this rule about window-opening. If it's opened at the bus station, then I let the bus travel to the next town or village and then I close the window. However the annoying thing is, if someones sat next to the window then you can't very well lean across them to slam the window whislt havign a distinctly chilly look on your face. And of course you can't ASK them to close the window, this would break the first rule of the bus "Don't talk to strangers" and I'm not going to be like FogHorn man and ask everyone on the bus if it's okay for me to close the window because.. to be honest.. its bloody freezing.

Wednesday, 10 March 2010

Bus Blues

It's funny, the only place on earth where you can be claustroaphobically close to someone and for it to still be acceptable - all the while whilst having their breath literally breathing down your neck - is the bus.
No matter what time of the day it is, no matter how full the bus it is, there will always be people getting on the bus and people getting on the bus. When it becomes exceptionally crowded, you find yourself squeezing up the aisle next to someone who you've never met, but are close enough to in terms of millimetres for people to assume you know them very, very well!
You give up seats for other people on the bus, without so much as word, just a polite nod of the head, whilst you scooch your weary body off the uncomfortable seat and try to find somewhere to fit your bag.
Yes, it is an unexplainable rule of buses, you can get close to a stranger but you can never talk to them - its like when you were a child and you were told by your mother "don't talk to strangers". Except your mother probably told you never to go anywhere with the stranger either and, if they did come near, you were to kick up a mighty stink and kick them where it hurts.
So anyway, the rule of the bus is to not talk, yet I have seen this rule broken twice in a matter of weeks, to the huge surprise of the crowded bus. The first instance was a crowded single decker bus travelling through a sleepy village at 7.30 in the morning. Everything was going fine, when suddenly out of the blue, a man with a voice like a foghorn asks "Does anyone mind if I open a window?"
You could've heard a pin drop on the bus, what was he doing?? A few shocked people shook their heads dimly and a couple brave ones sounded the work "No" aloud.
A few days later the rule was broken again. When again someone with a voice like a foghorn got on the bus, this time it was a women. She got on at the same time as the posh au pair and the snotty blonde child. Foghorn woman scanned the bus for an available seats and, realising there were none, promptly came out with this smart reply "There is a small child here without a seat". Once again nobody said anything, there was quick shuffling of bums of seats and the moving of heavy bags to the side, and the snotty blonde child was seated with her posh au pair standing like a guard at her side. Foghorn woman obviously thought she had done her deed for the day, as she looked very smug. I swear if any more children had got on the bus she would have sounded out her foghorn once again.
So then we had to put up with SB Child sounding out simle things all through the journey "I can draw a figure of 8" e.c.t, e.c.t.
So, if you want to take anything away from this, let it be "Do not speak to starngers on the bus, but if a child happens to get on the bus or a man looks like he is persiring heavily quickly vacate your seat and open a window - all silence will remain... Mostly"