Friday, 12 March 2010

Bus Blues - 2.

Yes, I know that this is the second time in two days that I have blogged about the downsides of the bus travel, but, when you travel every weekday, twenty miles there and back, you start to notice a lot of bad things about bus travel.
But then again I have always hated this one thing about the bus - when people open the window . The bus is neither a warm nor cold place so therefore it never fails to amaze me when people open the window on the bus, if you're hot - take off your jacket, or jumper, or cardigan... just don't open the window.
The thing is, if you're hot, opening the window never helps with anything. No matter where you sit on the bus if YOU want to open the window the air never cools you down, but annoyingly it blows in someones elses face - namely mine!
I've always hated the wind, its so annoying when it blows in your face and blows through your hair - I fear I shall never own a convertabile car, driving with the top down would just annoy me incessantly - not to mention the fact that it gives you goosebumps, all up your arms and necks. So when someone opens the window I get annoyed and grumble underneath my breath, usually to my friends or my other half.
Not to mention the fact that we live in the middle of the country so therefore travelling through the backroads of Devon with open windows never has a pleasant smell - and despite this the person sitting next to middle, clearly smelling the foul odours, still fails to shut the window!

I have this rule about window-opening. If it's opened at the bus station, then I let the bus travel to the next town or village and then I close the window. However the annoying thing is, if someones sat next to the window then you can't very well lean across them to slam the window whislt havign a distinctly chilly look on your face. And of course you can't ASK them to close the window, this would break the first rule of the bus "Don't talk to strangers" and I'm not going to be like FogHorn man and ask everyone on the bus if it's okay for me to close the window because.. to be honest.. its bloody freezing.

No comments:

Post a Comment